LINCOLN WOODS STATE PARK
Nestled between Routes 146 and Routes 123, Lincoln Woods State Park is one of Blackstone Valley's great treasures. A short ride from Providence, Pawtucket, and Cumberland, it is a popular get away for northeastern Rhode Islanders. Visitors can enjoy swimming at the fresh water beach, trout fishing, playing ball, hiking, jogging, horseback riding, or just relaxing under a shade tree. A new addition to the park is the Eastern Mountain Sports kayak center. A New Covered Bridge at the Breakneck Hill Entrance has been dedicated in the spring of 2005.
The park was named for the 16th President of the United States of America, Abraham Lincoln on February 12, 1909.
Lincoln Woods was acquired by gifts, purchases and condemnations. Between 1908 and 1910, 457.41 acres were purchased by the Metropolitan Park System at a cost of $26,755.00. Then, after Nelson J. Ballou donated .59 acres, the total was raised to 458 acres in 1918. The swimming area at the park was known as Lincoln Woods State Beach and later as Olney Beach. Then on June 18, 1977, the swimming area was dedicated as the Frank Moody State Beach.